Stark and Tuscarawas County Schools Among Those Recognized by the State Board of Education

The State Board of Education of Ohio today recognized one district and four schools with the All A Award for earning straight A’s on their 2016-2017 Ohio School Report Cards.

In addition, Stark and Tuscarawas County schools were among those to receive the Momentum Award for exceeding expectations in student growth for the year.

“These districts and schools are doing a wonderful job providing students with the tools to succeed — and their students are rising to the challenge,” said State Board of Education President Tess Elshoff. “The State Board of Education is proud to recognize these students, teachers, administrators, and parents for their accomplishments.”

Any Ohio school or district is eligible for the All A Award if it received A’s on all of its applicable report card measures.



Beginning in the 2017-2018 school year, the State Board of Education will recognize any school or district that earns an A on its report card overall component score.
Any Ohio school or district is eligible for the Momentum Award if it receives straight A’s on all Value-Added measures on the report card.


The school or district must have at least two Value-Added subgroups of students, which include gifted, lowest 20 percent in achievement and students with disabilities.

Those receiving this distinction in Stark County include:
W.S. Stinson Elementary School
Cedar Elementary School
Northwest Middle School
Orchard Hill Intermediate School
East Canton Middle School

This receiving this distinction in Tuscarawas County include:
Joseph Welty Middle School
West Elementary School
Dover Middle School

Click here for a complete list of districts and schools that received the All A Award or Momentum Award.

Michaela Madison Reporting 

(Photos-Ohio Department of Education)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: