Free Car Seats For Qualifying Families: Ohio Buckles Buckeyes Gears Up for Child Safety! Ohio Buckles Buckeyes assists families with proper (free) car seat installation and free car seats for qualifying families! Would you like to schedule a car seat installation by a CPST staff member? Do you meet the criteria to receive a free car seat for your littles? Find out right here on Newsymom!
Ohio Buckles Buckeyes has one goal: Keep your littles safe while traveling! The program, known as OBB, helps increase the awareness of proper car seat or booster seat installation and makes safety seats more readily available to qualifying families.
FAQ’s – OBB Edition
Can You Help Me Install My Child’s Car Seat? EEK!
Ohio Buckles Buckeyes staff have your back! If you’ve got a new baby on the way*, a child moving into the next safety seat, or you just want an experienced hand to check your install, OBB is ready to jump into action!
The program, through the Tuscarawas County Health Department, has several nationally certified car seat technicians (CPST) on staff to give you the hand you need. Call them at (330) 343-5555 x.111 or x.153 to schedule an appointment for a car seat check up!
*A note: Before bringing home your new baby, you’re required to have a properly installed car seat in the vehicle you use to bring them home.
Do I Qualify for the Ohio Buckles Buckeyes Program Free Car Seat?
Families who have WIC and Medicaid benefits already qualify for a free car seat or booster for their children! You can receive a car seat every three years for your qualifying child, if you take a class at the Tuscarawas County Health Department.
To find out if you qualify, shoot an email to email@example.com or call the Tuscarawas County Health Department at (330) 343-5555 x. 111 or x. 153.
How Do I Know Which Car Seat I Need for My Child?
Follow this handy-dandy chart, courtesy of the Tuscarawas County Health Department’s website:
Also, take a look at Ohio’s Car Seat Law 4511.81:
- Children from birth until either 8 years or 4’9” must be in a car seat or booster seat used according to manufacturer’s instructions
- Kids 8 up to 15 in a car seat, booster seat or a seat belt
- Any vehicle equipped with seat belts at the time of manufacture
- Fines of $25 and more plus possible jail time for a second offense
- Drivers receive tickets not passengers
It’s important to buckle your kiddos in safely, ensuring you’re following the law and keeping them as safe as can be! Call the Tuscarawas County Health Department to schedule your car seat or booster seat appointment at (330) 343-5555 x. 111 or x. 153.